Being a foreigner

Hey everyone,

I am reading “the namesake” by Jumpa Lahiri (yes, I went through my last final today so I finally have time to read for fun, one of my greatest pleasures). The book is good so far, and there’s a passage I found to be very well-put and true. It’s about being a foreigner in the United States; something I can relate to! Here it goes:

“For being a foreigner, Ashima is beginning to realize, is a sort of lifelong pregnancy– a perpetual wait, a constant burden, a continuous feeling out of sorts. It is an ongoing responsibility, a parenthesis in what had once been ordinary life, only to discover that that previous life has vanished, replaced by something more complicated and demanding. Like pregnancy, being a foreigner, Ashima believes, is something that elicits the same curiosity from strangers, the same combination of pity and respect.” (p.50)

~ by seaofcurls on December 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
