To open a book…

Yesterday, I decided to check my mail for the first time in months. Turns out I recevied two books (I use bookmooch.com). One of them is Mingmei Yip’s Peach Blossom Pavilion. Sometimes, I tend to be a little superficial when I pick books, because I’m attracted to beautiful covers (usually, when they say “don’t judge a book by the cover” they mean don’t judge negatively, by I do the opposite).

This has fooled me in the past: I ordered, for example, An Inheritance of Loss just because the book looked so beautiful and the story sounded alright. Well, I didn’t even finish the book because it was incredibly boring.

The cover of Peach Blossom Pavilion is wonderful. It is dark orange and features a gorgeous Chinese lady surrounded by cherry flower branches (or something of the sort).

After my lesson with An Inheritance of Loss, I decided to read the first page of Peach Blossom Pavilion just to make sure I wasn’t fooled again by a pretty cover.

The result? Not even 24 hours later, I’m halfway through the 421-page book and I’m wondering HOW I’m going to study for my huge test that’s tomorrow morning, when all I want is to go back to China to immerse myself in the strange universe of the prostitution house where, unfortunately, the main character’s life is unfolding. I’m not going to recommend this book to you yet, because I feel that endings can either make or break a story. So when I get there and I’m done with the novel (hopefully not to the detriment of my grades), I will let you know what I think.

I think I’m going to allow myself an hour of reading before starting to study frantically for my important exam on French history.

Take care my readers!

~ by seaofcurls on March 22, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
